Listen Live
WERE AM Mobile App 2020


Joy 107.1 Featured Video
47th Annual GMA Dove Awards - Show

Source: Terry Wyatt / Getty

The Gospel Music Association has created a platform where all Contemporary Gospel, Gospel and Inspiration artist will be recognized.  New Gospel categories has been added and more Gospel artist are now nominated for the coveted Dove Award.  The Nominees for the 2016 Dove Awards has been released and some of your favorite Gospel artist have nominations.  Gospel nominees include Lecrae, Travis Greene, Anthony Brown & Group Therapy, Hezekiah Walker, Jonathan McReynolds, Kirk Franklin, Tasha Cobbs, Chicago Mass, James Hall & WAP, John P. Kee, Deitrick Haddon, Jonathan Nelson, Marvin Sapp, Briana Babineaux, Israel Houghton, William McDowell, Todd Dulaney, Janice Gaines, Tamela Mann, Tim Bowman Jr., Pastor Shirley Caesar.  Our very own, Anthony Brown has the most nominations and is up for song of the year with “Worth”.

Artist of the Year


Hillsong UNITED

Lauren Daigle



New Artist of the Year


Jordan Feliz

Stars Go Dim

Travis Greene

We Are Messengers

Gospel Artist of the Year

Anthony Brown & group therAPy

Hezekiah Walker

Jonathan McReynolds

Kirk Franklin

Tasha Cobbs

Traditional Gospel Album of the Year

Everyday Jesus – Anthony Brown & group therAPy

We Give You Praise – Chicago Mass Choir

WAP New Era – James Hall Worship & Praise

Powerful – Japan Mass Choir

Level Next – John P. Kee

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year

Uncomfortable – Andy Mineo

Therapy Session – NF

Church Clothes 3 – Lecrae

This Time Around – Tedashii

Forward – Flame

Rap/Hip-Hop Song of the Year

“Uncomfortable” – Andy Mineo

“No Quit” – Derek Minor

“Can’t Do You” – Lecrae

“I Just Wanna Know” – NF

“Jumped Out The Whip” – Tedashii

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album of the Year

Masterpiece – Deitrick Haddon

Life Music: Stage Two – Jonathan McReynolds

Fearless – Jonathan Nelson

Losing My ReligionKirk Franklin

You Shall Live – Marvin Sapp

Urban Worship Album of the Year

Keys To My Heart – Briana “Bri” Babineaux

Covered: Alive in Asia – Israel Houghton & New Breed

One Place Live – Tasha Cobbs

The Hill – Travis Greene

Sounds of RevivalWilliam McDowell

Urban Worship Recorded Song of the Year

“Worth” – Anthony Brown & group therAPy

“Fill Me Up” – Tasha Cobbs

“The Anthem” – Todd Dulaney

“Intentional” – Travis Greene

“Spirit Break Out” – William McDowell

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Recorded Song of the Year

“Wait On You” – Janice Gaines

“The Way That You Love Me” – Jonathan McReynolds

“Wanna Be Happy?” – Kirk Franklin

“One Way” – Tamela Mann

“I’m Good” – Tim Bowman Jr.

Traditional Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

“Thank You, Thank You Jesus” – Chicago Mass Choir

“Better” – Hezekiah Walker

“Level Next” – John P. Kee

“It’s Alright, It’s OK feat. Anthony Hamilton” – Shirley Caesar

“Put A Praise On It” – Tasha Cobbs

Song of the Year 

“Brother” – (writers) Bear Rinehart, Bo Rinehart

“First” – (writers) Hank Bentley, Jason Ingram, Lauren Daigle, Mia Fieldes, Paul Mabury

“Flawless” – (writers) Barry Graul, Bart Millard, Ben Glover, David Garcia, Mike Scheuchzer, Nathan Cochran, Robby Shaffer, Solomon Olds

“Good, Good Father” – (writers) Pat Barrett, Tony Brown

“Just Be Held” – (writers) Bernie Herms, Mark Hall, Matthew West

“No Longer Slaves” – (writers) Jonathan David Hesler, Brian Johnson, Joel Case

“The River” – (writers) Colby Wedgeworth, Jordan Feliz, Joshua Silverberg

“Touch The Sky” – (writers) Joel Houston, Dylan Thomas, Michael Guy Chislett

“Trust In You” – (writers) Lauren Daigle, Michael Farren, Paul Mabury

“Worth” – (writers) Anthony Brown

Check out the full list of winners here:

Gospel Artist Wins Big at the 2016 Dove Awards  was originally published on